What is Kosher? ✡️

Kosher Certification/Kashrus

If you’re not a Kosher eater, you may wonder what is Kosher?

A Kosher restaurant that serves food must comply with Kosher dietary laws. The restaurants must operate under Rabbinical supervision which certifies them as following the strict Kosher laws that Jews must observe & therefore permitted to eat by as dictated in the Torah.

A certificate is issued from a number of different organizations ranging in stricter practices to slightly more lenient.

Dietary Rules and Regulations

  • Meats must have hooves & chew their cud.
  • Specific Birds can be eaten such as Goose, Chicken, Duck & Turkey.
  • Only fish with fins & scales can be eaten. Tuna, Salmon, Grouper, Seabass, Tilapia & many others.
  • No shellfish such as lobster, mussels, shrimps or crabs.
  • Milk products must be derived from Kosher animals.
  • Prohibition of combining meat & milk “You may not cook a young animal in the milk of its mother” (Exodus 23:19)
  • Eggs are only permitted from Kosher birds & can not contain blood.
  • Vegetables must be thoroughly cleaned to remove all insects
  • Consuming Wine requires a Kosher symbol/certificate
  • Parve foods are neither meat nor dairy. Prime examples are fruit, vegetables, grains, breads, fish.
Back To Top